Iowa FFA Association



The FFA Mission FFA makes a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth, and career success through agricultural education.

State of Iowa Department of Education Bureau of Technical & Vocational Education Grimes State Office Building Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0147 Contact: Alan Spencer (515.281.4706)

NEWS RELEASE

For Immediate Release

2008 IOWA FFA CONDUCT OF MEETINGS CAREER DEVELOPMENT EVENT 80th Iowa FFA State Leadership Conference

The Iowa FFA Conduct of Meetings Leadership Event was held at Hilton Coliseum, Ames, on Monday, April 14, 2008. Twelve chapters participated in this year's Career Development Event. The first place chapter for the event was the Hudson FFA Chapter. Their agriculture education instructor is Mr. Dennis Deppe. The second place chapter for the event was the Montezuma FFA Chapter. Their agriculture education instructor is Mr. Rick Swenson.

Teams participating in this event were composed of seven members organized to act out the duties of an officer team. Teams were required to demonstrate opening ceremonies, act out two parliamentary procedure abilities, and successfully close a meeting. This event aids in the development of leadership abilities of young members for present and future chapter activities. The Montezuma FFA Chapter, through the Iowa FFA Foundation, sponsored this year's event.

The Iowa FFA Association has 230 local chapters with over 12,000 FFA members. FFA is a national organization of more than 500,000 members preparing for leadership and careers in science,

Iowa FFA Association -- 2

business and technology of agriculture. Local, state and national programs provide opportunities for

students to apply knowledge and skills learned in the classroom. FFA's mission is to make a positive

difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for **premier leadership**, **personal**

growth and career success through agricultural education.

Listed below are the results for the Conduct of Meetings Leadership Event.

Place FFA Member Name(s)		Chapter P. O.	Rating
1	Holly Halstead, Brooke Brinker, Jessica Wetherell, Ross	Hudson	Gold
	Droppert, Jessi Sorensen, Krista Schmidt, and Kyle Johnson		
2	Courtney Latcham, Shannon Sutfin, Katy Mckee, Alex Bryan,	Montezuma	Gold
	Marisa Bushong, Alexa Wheaton, and Levi Hoksbergen		
3	Karah Shindelar, Danielle Fulsaas, Alisha Breeser, Bryce	Decorah	Gold
	Hoyme, Cody Sacquitne, Mitch Schluter, and Lee Vangsness		
	Matthew Costello, A.J. McNeil, Amanda Franck, Patrick	DeWitt	Silver
	Diedrich, Levi Wagener, Logan Kennedy, and Jennifer Lane		
	Joseph Klein, Jennifer Arkfeld, Lucas Havick, Ashlen	Harlan	Silver
	Rutherford, Kyler Vande Berg, Grant Richardson, and Jonathan		
	Emma Boehmer, Ashley Meyer, Lauren Malecek, Jacob	Osage	Silver
	Chambers, Leah Bauserman, Jon Lutz, and Alex Emerson		
	Taylor Jacobs, Brett Timmins, Eva Jones, Hillary Howdle,	Pleasant Hill	Silver
	Katie Scott, Kari Konrad, and Tanner Bistline		
	Jeremy Lansink, Kate Sennert, Brittany Keith, Kearsten Brown,	Sioux Rapids	Silver
	Jamie Madsen, David Movall, and Susan Krummen		
	Hannah Hilsabeck, Danielle Akers, Kayla Barber, Megan	Winterset	Silver
	Norman, Marissa Ham, Tyler Lehman, and Heylee Horn		
	Kiela Ruth, Joshua Geer, Kaitlyn Hawbaker, Becky Greer,	Nashua	Bronze
	Griffin Poppe, Reece Buttjer, and Kelly Bierschenk		
	Nick Ray, P. J. Frederick, Sean Eads, Jesse Harrison, Jordan	Orient	Bronze
	Nelson, Michael Kaufman, and Adam Pool		
	Steven Brockshus, Eric Zylstra, Annie Zylstra, Derek	Sibley	Bronze
	Ackerman, Megan Jurgens, Isaac Butler, and William Rockman		